Departments > Physics-Aided Stream
About the Department
     The department of Physics is one of the first Departments in Nesamony Memorial Christian college, the Department of physics was born. Prof. RS. Ramachandran of Scott Christian College took became of the first Head of the Department. He taught the then pre-University students and started building up the Department.
     Prof.J.M.Arthur\, prof, of Physics, Scott christian college, joined the college in May 1966 as Principal. The first batch of 34 students joined in June 1966 in B.Sc Physics. the students as seen in the Association reports, were exposed to modern topics by the then experts in the field.  The Department made its presence felt by bagging the first prize in Vavubali Exhibition in August 1966 and 1967. The Department literally had to wade through all sort of problems in this venture.  The students of that time were first generation, their parents were poor and they had to depend completely on the Department (no tuition) for their advancement. They were very sincere and this can be ascertained by a 70% pass in examination. Six passed with first class and seven with Second Class.
     Prof.R.S. Ramachandran left this college in January 1971 and Prof.C.D. Ben from Scott Christian College took charge in February 1971. He was enthusiastic about experimental work. The Physics Department is a pioneer of all sorts.  When Radio was rare, the new HOD started the Radio CLUB IN 1971.  The Photographic club also was started in 1972.  Students were exposed to photographing, developing and enlarging.
     The Department got a boost to its status when Prof. Arthur J. Harris, Professor of physics, American college, was appointed Principal in November 1974.  The college became a co-educational college in 1977 June with three girls in physics Major.  in 1979, Mr.G.Jose Robin, took charge of the Radio (transistor) club and Mr. A. Ambrose and Mr. T. Vincent Devaraj were in charge of the photographic club.  Blue printing technique was taught to class III Physics students.
     The department made another stride academically in 1980 with the launching of M.Sc. Physics with 10 students - the fist PG Course to be introduced in the college Prof.C.D. Ben retired in May 8.  The Department with its new Head, Mr. G. Jose Robin, kept up its name in the Silver Jubilee Exhibition conducted in the college from 03-02-+1991 to 08-03-1991 for hosting the best stall.
     The college got the Internet connection in 1999 and Internet Users, club was started in the Department of Physics and Dr. J. Thampi Thanka Kumaran took charge of it.  Mr. G. Jose Robin retired in may 2001 after 33 years of service in the college. Now the Department functions under its new Head, Ms, saroja Lawrence.
     The Department has two well-equipped laboratories, a Crystal Growth Centre, a Computer Laboratory, a Library, and a mini workshop.  The Department conducts study tours and entertainment tours every year for the PG and UG Students.
     The Department faced two untimely deaths, Mr. C. Thankaraj, a laboratory assistant who died on 27.10.97 and Mr. v. Raja Kumar, who started the Crystal Growth Centre, on 31.10.01. The loss is irreparable to the Department and the college.
  • Marthandam,
    Kanyakumari District,
  • 04651 - 270257